What documents do you need to get married in Alabama?
Bride and Groom must have a valid photo identification such as a driver’s license, state identification card, government or military identification card, or a passport. A social security number is required to obtain a marriage license.
How do you get married in the state of Alabama?
Starting Aug. 29, Alabama will no longer issue traditional marriage licenses. Instead, couples wanting to get wed will submit a notarized marriage certificate that will be recorded – but not issued – by Probate Judges. The notarized statement must be submitted within a month of being signed.
How much does it cost to get married at the courthouse in Alabama?
If you’re getting married in Alabama, you must first apply for a marriage license. It’ll cost you $70.00 to $104.00, and you’ll have to register it within 30 days.
How do I get married in Alabama 2020?
How to Obtain a Marriage License
- Complete the marriage license form provided by the State.
- Print the form and take it to a notary to sign and have notarized.
- Deliver the form to the Probate Office for recording along with a filing fee.
How long does it take to get a marriage certificate in Alabama?
Mail or deliver the form to an Alabama probate court.
Your form must be delivered within 30 days of signing it.
How do I get a marriage certificate in Alabama?
You can access the Alabama Marriage Certificate form online at the Alabama Department of Public Health’s website at http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage- certificates.
Can a notary marry you in Alabama?
Persons wishing to legally marry in Alabama will now do so by completing and submitting an affidavit and forms specified in state law. Alabama Notaries Public may perform the notarization for a couple’s marriage affidavit and charge the allowed fee for the notarial act.
What is the new marriage law in Alabama?
Alabama’s new way of saying “I do” goes into effect today. Starting today, getting married in the state will be as simple as completing a state-provided form, having it notarized and returning it to a probate judge for recording. No ceremony or signature by an officiant, such as a minister or judge, is required.
Can I get married without a marriage license?
Getting married without a marriage license can mean that your marriage is null and void. A marriage licence is required by the State to ensure that the persons getting married can validly do so. A marriage license is a requirement for most marriages to be valid, except in very limited situations.
Do you need witness to get married in Alabama?
Witnesses: In Alabama witnesses are not required. Who Issues Marriage Certificate: The county probate judge’s office is responsible for issuing marriage certificates in the State of Alabama.
Who can perform a wedding ceremony in Alabama?
State law, in section 30-1-7 of the Code of Alabama, spells out who can “solemnize” a marriage ceremony. The list includes current and retired judges from state court, federal court and probate judges. It also includes a pastor of a religious society.
Can you get a marriage license in Alabama?
In Person in Alabama: You may go to any county health department in the State of Alabama to obtain a certified copy of an Alabama marriage certificate. Most marriage certificates can be issued while you wait.
How do you get married at the courthouse?
Courthouse wedding checklist
- Do your research. …
- Gather the required documents. …
- Apply for a marriage license. …
- Set a courthouse ceremony date. …
- Secure a court-approved officiant. …
- Get a witness (if necessary). …
- Invite your family and friends. …
- Think about post-ceremony celebrations.
Can you elope in Alabama?
Alabama’s got something for everyone. From the Gulf Coast to the Robert Trent Jones golf courses, you will find plenty to interest you. In addition, destinations like Gulf Shores and Mobile and other great outdoor adventure locations make great elopement destinations.
Can you get married in Alabama without being a resident?
You don’t even have to be an Alabama resident to get married in the state. There is only one catch: you have to return the application, signed by both parties, to the probate judge within 30 days. Once the form is recorded by the probate court, the marriage is legal.